…Being a Mom is tough…

Psalm 73:26 “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

jordi 8th grade gradThese are my wonderful children- Jordan & Erin – They are truly my heart. I love them with all I am.  Erin, my daughter, is starting college in less than 6 weeks…and Jordan, the super tall dude in the bright orange shirt (his choice by the way) starts 9th grade just 3 days before Erin starts college.  Many changes are coming my way. Erin will be living on campus, so not home with us. And Jordan is going to have to step up and help more around the house. That will be a challenge.

Over this past year, I have fretted;  thinking have I given my daughter everything she needs to go out on her own – to live a life where she is not afraid, not wanting, a life where she will thrive?

As a single mom, I have tried with all my might to give my children all that they need, and some of what they want, but the budget is tight.  My daughter has helped me in the grocery store for the past few years, so she knows how to shop on a budget; how to make a dollar last. And she has been washing the clothes for the past 3 years, So I know she will be okay; just a mom thing.

 

And with Jordan I feel like I have messed up with him most, he is just like me and sometimes we clash – However he has a heart of gold and would do anything for anyone.  Anything but eat what his mother prepares….unless it is Chicken, Hot dogs or pork loin, no veggies, and not starches. Many years I have tried to get him to try things…to no avail. UGH!! (sigh) My mom says he is not starving, he will be fine – look at you, you were just like him – now you love to eat. {I add a new food every year to try…but that is another story.}  Aw the wisdom of a mother!

I may not always  give them the things they want, or desire; but God has provided all that we need. And I am so thankful for His presence in my life.

There have been times when we have struggled – But praise the Lord He is always there….in John 16:33 Jesus told his disciples, “…In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  What a wonderful hope!

I believe God uses all the things that we may deem as missteps – as opportunities to learn and grow. What do you think?

#imperfectmom

God Bless You,

Teresa

 

 

About tdm4him

I am a daughter of the King!! A Single Mom of the 2 best children in the world...I love the Lord my God with all my heart, and want to serve him. I am not perfect, and fail, but He picks me up and gets me back on the right path. I work for a Christian company, as the assistant claims manager for large group health insurance, and I love it!! I am on a journey, and it is quite exciting.
This entry was posted in P31 Blog Hop Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to …Being a Mom is tough…

  1. Teresa sounds like you have done a wonderful job as a single Mom. Let go now with that daughter and give it to Him. As for the food, I had one of those daughters and we stewed and fretted because she would not eat so many things. Looking back it was dumb and looking bad that was the only issue we ever had with that little one who is now grown and still picky but does eat a little better now. Thanks for sharing with us. Debbie W. (Proverbs 31 OBS Ministries Team)

  2. Katie says:

    Thanks for sharing with us, Teresa. It sounds like your oldest is prepared to leave home for a bit. Good thing we have the power of prayer to still pray over our kids even as they leave home. Thanks for the reminder that as moms we may not have provided all that our kids have wanted but God does provide all we need. Amen to that!

  3. Thanks for sharing, Teresa
    May God continue to give you His grace and wisdom as you enter this new phase of life with your daughter.

  4. sabrinaebert says:

    I soooo love reading the blog post this time round. All the mummy stories…its so encouraging and your post is lovely as well. Thank You for sharing. My kids are an almost 3 year old and a 1 week old…but I fast forward into the future often now and wonder how my girls will turn out. School, college, leaving home…scary! Love the fact that you did it alone…single mum. Super proud of you…makes me want to stop complaining! 😉 much blessings and hoping all goes well with the kids with the new changes.

    • tdm4him says:

      Thank you. God is in control, I really just have to remember that. Thanks for stopping by…God’s richest blessings to you as you journey through these early years…Enjoy them. And sleep when they do…

  5. Kim says:

    Wonderful post!! God bless you!! Single moms have to do double duty, and it sounds like you have done an amazing job!!!! God bless you, your daughter and your son!!!

  6. sherisesmith says:

    Beautiful kiddos! And kudos for you for doing such an awesome job as a single mom. This mothering thing doesn’t get easier as they get older….it just changes. I have 2 in college and I seem to fret about the, more than when they were small. Thanks for sharing your heart, it brightened my day.

  7. Angela says:

    I will be praying for you as you enter this next part of motherhood. And it’s comforting to see that you made it through the high school years. I’m just at that beg point and praying we make it through and embrace it, good and tough!!

  8. Melyssa says:

    Such a great post. Thank you! It is a really important reminder to me because I have those thoughts NOW, with my children only being ages 2 and 7 months! I wonder if I’m going to prepare them well enough for the real world, and how I will handle it when they are gone from the nest. I think sometimes it’s easy to say, “Well, there’s plenty of time.” But the reality is…time is short, and now is the time we have to prepare them. Sounds like you are doing a great job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

