This is all I have to give…#Momlife

I am participating in an OBS via Proverbs 31 and this go around we are reading Lysa Terkeurst’s book “Am I messing Up My Kids”. Unfortunately my book arrives today (ordered a month ago…via Barnes & Noble; had a gift card) -So I have not read this weeks selections…However, at first when I heard; “This is all I have to give”, I thought of someone being spent(or tired,exhausted)..and finally just saying to the Lord, {and I have done this} Lord this is it, this is all I have – use me to do your glory.  Or maybe when my kids need something,  this is what you can get – cause this is all the $ I have – sorry guys.

However when I think of all our Lord has done for us, and realize He gave All He Had to Give…it certainly changes my perspective on this statement. He gave willingly, ALL of Himself.

I find myself these days wondering do I give all – in our society – do we even know how to give all?  What does it look like to give all – ? Christ died on an Old Rugged Cross for me, for sins I have not even committed yet.

old rugged cross

Recently my children and I spent the day together…and I was hoping for an awesome day!!  I started out all wrong. I rolled out of bed later than I wanted, so I did not take the time to do my bible study (1st wrong move), my kids and I love to go to yard sales on Saturdays – so we went – we found nothing of interest, but rode over all creation – then we had not planned anything to do – so my daughter suggested going to the beach to go Thrift Store shopping, another fun thing to do…However, I went with the wrong attitude…I do not enjoy being stuck in traffic – and even though the beach is only 30 minutes from our home – once we got there…it took us 1 hour and 1/2 to go 15 miles…ugh, and we only got to go to one thrift store. I was snippy – and my wonderful daughter whom I have taught well — Said Mom, we are together, if you had a positive attitude this would not be so horrible – we can have fun.  *kids*  So I searched deep to try to muster the “fun” – but I was just spent…tired.  At the end of the day – I had squandered what could have been a fun time  with my teenagers…I did not give all – I was so downtrodden for the way I behaved – it took me a few days to get myself out of the gutter.  My friends, I am usually the one who says, lets turn this trial into fun times…but not this day.

**I must start my day with the Lord! I know this…when I don’t Satan plays havoc in my life! 

images

James 1:2 “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete.” (niv)

Blessings All,

Teresa

P31 Blog Hop

 

 

 

About tdm4him

I am a daughter of the King!! A Single Mom of the 2 best children in the world...I love the Lord my God with all my heart, and want to serve him. I am not perfect, and fail, but He picks me up and gets me back on the right path. I work for a Christian company, as the assistant claims manager for large group health insurance, and I love it!! I am on a journey, and it is quite exciting.
This entry was posted in P31 Blog Hop Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This is all I have to give…#Momlife

  1. Thanks for sharing! I can totally relate. I have had days like the one you described.

  2. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I love the Hide Em in Your Heart CD. Robert has started singing them.
    I know exactly what you mean about starting the day wrong. When Robert has the wrong attitude, we say he was Spicy today. Then I started saying to him that he had spice in his heart. When he gets a little bigger (and with his parent’s approval. Dad’s not saved), I will tell him that it is sin. My son said to me one day, “Mom you are being spicy”. He was so correct. We have taught our children well. Now the teacher will become the student.
    I hope you can find time to catch up with the book. It’s a quick read. I was a week behind because I got my book late also. Enjoy your day!

  3. Thoughts so true for most of us at times – dwelling on the negative instead of the positive, but you have taught your daughter well and she reminded you of those truths. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W. (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

Leave a Reply

